13th Cargese Workshop on Combinatorial Optimization

September 2–6, 2024

Institut d'Etudes Scientifiques de Cargèse, Corsica (France)


The yearly Cargese workshop aims to bring together researchers in combinatorial optimization around a chosen topic of current interest. It is intended to be a forum for the exchange of recent developments and powerful tools, with an emphasis on theory. Other goals include the promotion of interactions between participants and discussions of open problems.

Mathematicians are known to be the only ones that can lay down in a sofa, close their eyes and pretend to work.
We propose to swap the sofa for a hammock... Do you want to join?

Sea at Cargese


This edition's workshop will focus on "Sampling and Counting".

Distinguished speakers


The workshop will be hosted by L'Institut d'Études Scientifiques de Cargèse (IESC). This year's organizers are:

The organizers receive advise from the steering commitee, consisting of Fritz Eisenbrand, Michel Goemans, Monique Laurent, R. Ravi, and Jens Vygen.

Institut d'Études Scientifiques de Cargèse


There will be morning and afternoon sessions. Morning sessions will be dedicated to longer survey-type talks or open problems. The afternoon sessions will be dedicated to discussions as well as shorter talks on related topics.

In their spare time, we encourage researchers to enjoy the beautiful landscape and opportunities of the island, besides solving a few open problems.

Chairs with view on sea at Cargese


  • Ahmad Abdi
  • Nima Anari
  • Gennadiy Averkov
  • Nikhil Bansal
  • Kristóf Bérczi
  • Alex Black
  • Jean Cardinal
  • Tracy Chin
  • Gerard Cornuejols
  • Daniel Dadush
  • Katharina Eickhoff
  • Marek Elias
  • Samuel Fiorini
  • Bertrand Guenin
  • Fabrizio Grandoni
  • Christoph Hertrich
  • Sophie Huiberts
  • Sharat Ibrahimpur
  • Danish Kashaev
  • Max Klimm
  • Stefan Kober
  • Cedric Koh
  • Yunbum Kook
  • Pravesh Kothari
  • Aiya Kuchukova
  • Andrey Kupavskii
  • Alexandra Lassota
  • Kuikui Liu
  • Siyue Liu
  • Jannik Matuschke
  • Rose McCarty
  • Tom McCormick
  • Raghu Meka
  • Meike Neuwohner
  • Christian Nöbel
  • Neil Olver
  • Shayan Oveis Gharan
  • Alessandro Panconesi
  • Kanstantsin Pashkovich
  • Britta Peis
  • Xavier Povill
  • Luise Puhlmann
  • Mirabel Reid
  • Lars Rhowedder
  • Thomas Rothvoß
  • Tamas Schwarz
  • Matthias Schymura
  • Neta Singer
  • Daphne Skipper
  • Emily Speakman
  • Raphael Steiner
  • Olha Silinha
  • Makrand Sinha
  • Jozef Skokan
  • Martin Skutella
  • Ola Svensson
  • Vera Traub
  • Laura Vargas-Koch
  • Santosh Vempala
  • Cynthia Vinzant
  • Jens Vygen
  • Stefan Weltge

Previous editions

A list of all previous editions can be found here.


Logo designed by Giuseppe Musolino. Website hosted at GitHub Pages. Layout based on skeleton using AmatiSC font.